top of page
Search

#MyPrayerWarriors

This is the last of a 5-part series about happiness. Today’s topic is “Surround yourself with people who make you better.” Earlier, I was reminiscing on the goodness of God and how grace and mercy have bought me this far. Many have said, including myself, that you see me now, but you don’t know my story. One of my favorite songs and repetitions to help me feel better during challenging times is “God, you haven’t brought me this far to leave me!” I first heard my mother say and repeat this song as a child. Now as an adult, I frequently draw upon it to settle my soul and spirit while surrounding myself with those who helps make me better.


What started as a Sunday Class in Jackson, Mississippi morphed in a community-based, sisterhood book club of Christian women now known as my Prayer Warriors. Since the creation of our book club (PM2IBC) in 2006, three women, including myself, bonded as avid readers and sisterly friends. Through the years, we have maintained our trusted connection sometimes being thousands of miles away. With that said, sometimes the people who are thousand miles away from you can make you feel better than the people who are near you, physically. Such was the case in 2011 when I relocated to the Nation’s Midwest and was going through a tough time. It was during such times I leaned heavily on my two Prayer Warriors.


Being surrounding by these two ladies, either from far away through teleconferencing or in person, created a space of betterment for us individually and collectively. Whether you are encountering tough times or not, like me it’s great to be surrounded by people to help you fight your battles as my Prayer Warriors continues to do. At times during battles, you may feel engulfed by your enemies but be rest assured the Lord is always our refuge and can send people to surround you for protection. I’ve learned that reaching out for spiritual guidance is a necessity whether it be through intercessory prayer and with trusted, scriptural advice.


Today, we steady support each other through fervent prayers, inspirational texts, cards, and other positive energy to get us through moments in challenging times. Having people encircled around us is truly a blessing who are gifted with being a good listener, offers a judgement-free zone, and are trustworthy, and have open hearts and minds. These ingredients are what I consider my chicken soup for the soul. So, I challenge you to get you some for it will make you better! And, get a Prayer Warrior or Prayer Partner.



Prayerfully,


Gala D. S. Goldsmith

President/CEO

Be mindful: “Be You. Do You. For You”

1 view1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page