top of page
Search

#AnotherViewpoint

Hello spring! Yes, spring has sprung here in my area. Pollen counts are rising due to pollinating trees, grasses, plants, and weeds. As you may know, weeds are generally considered undesirable and troublesome in certain situations. However, after reading a recent social media post with a different perspective about weeds, I wanted to share it with you, as presented below. It is authored by Curnis Upton III, a fellow Mississippian who shares a different perspective about weeds.


As credited below, I borrowed it for today’s blog to continually uplift and encourage each of my AMPED followers to be open-minded. Upton’s viewpoint about weeds reminds me of the saying “When life gives you lemons, make lemonade.” As we continue to endure seasonal spring conditions, I hope you enjoy this perspective (another viewpoint) just as I did or more.

Here goes:

“#Perspective. I am sure those of us with yards see weeds like these growing amidst our

otherwise dormant lawns right now. We can’t wait to poison them to death or chop them down

with our lawnmowers.


My daughter saw these weeds as beautiful flowers and immediately wanted to make a floral

arrangement. She saw things from a different perspective.


When life gives you weeds, arrange them into something that can be admired and will put a smile

on someone's face - even if that face is your own.”

Credit: Curnis Upton, III, Jackson, MS


In closing, I want us to consider another viewpoint for weeds in our lives. Whether you consider them troublesome or not, what purpose do they serve. With that, I am reminded of a book I read which stated (and I paraphrase): “we cut them {weeds} down but they come right back again and again. It is their purpose to keep coming for everything under the sun has a purpose in this world. Everything wants to live and deserves life”. So, I leave you with another viewpoint to ponder: how do you handle the weed(s) in your life?



Enjoy your day!


/s/ Gala D. S. Goldsmith

AMPED, LLC

Founder/CEO



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page